November is fast disappearing!

nano-logoDear NaNo writers!

We have a write-in planned at Lyn’s house, “Ducks,” from noon-6pm. RSVP to Lyn HERE for directions. Also, one more Monday night Write-in at the Library, 6:30-closing, 11/28.

Here are some tips from the latest Pep Talk, this one from Maggie Steifvater of the Raven Boys series.

  1. Know my project. I need to know what I want that final project to look like. Where it sits on the shelf, why I’m writing it, how it will make the reader feel. Then I ask myself with each chapter: does this belong in the book I said I was writing?

  2. Never sit at my computer without knowing what I’m going to write. If I’m stuck, I need to stimulate my physical body so my mind can play: drive, walk, shower.

  3. Unwind each day with thirty minutes of reading something that feels like what I’m trying to make, to remind myself how others accomplished it.

  4. [brackets]. If I know I need a beat but can’t quite get the details yet, I place brackets around the words [fight here] or [scene], so that I know I can go back and fix it later.

  5. Move forward and backward. I go back and edit; I go forward and outline. Rereading and scanning ahead helps me keep #1 in mind.

  6. Ignore word count. I get through the plot first, then I go back and flesh out or cut down as needed.

From NaNoWriMo Pep Talks by well-known NaNo authors 

Leave a Reply

