Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie awarded ‘Best of the Best’

Awarded for the decade’s best novel, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie previously won the 2007 Prize for her novel about 1960s Nigeria, a land riven by civil war. Half of a Yellow Sun…

“…is a novel about Africa in a wider sense: about the end of colonialism, ethnic allegiances, class and race – and about the ways in which love can complicate all of these things.”

The BAILEYS Women’s Prize for Fiction  celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. Formerly known as the Orange Prize, this British award bestows the winner with £30,000 and a bronze ‘Bessie’ statuette, and is endowed by an anonymous donor.

The prize is open to any full length novel written in English by a woman of any nationality, published in the UK. (But alas, self-publishing does not qualify.) Each year a team of notable women authors and leaders review 150 books to determine the Short List and the Prize winner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s