It’s Almost NaNo Time again!!!

What is NaNo, you ask? National Novel Writing Month comes every year in November, and that’s when I join over 300,000 of my closest writer friends in the quest to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Can it be done? Of course! I’m a four-time winner!

Now, truth be told, winning means I met my goal, and exceeded the 50,000 word count. (That means I have a pile of rough drafts!) Some writers set other goals. In the Young Writers Program, kids work with a teacher or mentor to set an achievable goal. Not everyone writes a novel, either. NaNo Rebels have their own Forum hangout and pursue their memoirs, essays, poetry and plays with the enthusiastic support of the community.

It’s a global event, and there are local and state organizers who help us track our progress and hold meetups everywhere there are NaNo writers. Including Accokeek, MD.

This year I am so proud: our host library is an official Come Write In location! We’re having a big Kick-Off event on Monday November 2 from 6:o0 to 8:30 pm! Come and meet WriMo participants from the past, present and future, and get motivated to write like you never have before. Coffee and light refreshments will be served.

Mark your calendar for  Monday December 7 when we’ll celebrate our achievements from 6:o0 to 8:30 pm. There will be party fare and author readings, and more! Stay tuned to this blog for details as they arise.

Feel free to get in touch with me with any questions you have about NaNoWriMo – I love to share and encourage more writers to join in the fun.

Here’s a pep talk from the NaNoWriMo blog:

Wrimos Around the World: “Swallow Your Fears and Keep Moving.”

One of the best parts of NaNoWriMo is the incredible community of writers behind it. Today, Lise Quintana, creator of the Lithomobilus platform and head of Zoetic Press, shares how the lessons she’s learned from NaNoWriMo have applied to her many entrepreneurial projects:

When did you first participate in NaNo, and what drew you to it?

I found NaNoWriMo in 2002, when a colleague emailed me an article in early October saying “These people are crazy.” I signed up before I responded to his email. For my first NaNoWriMo, I have to admit:

to read Lise’s confession and the rest of her article, click here for more: “Swallow Your Fears, con’t.”

Leave a Reply

