Crossed the NaNoWriMo finish line, but…

I will accept your applause, dear writers. I just crossed the 50,000 word threshold and became:

But, there’s a BIG but: I am not done with the book! I’m deep into the exciting life of the novel. I am in love with writing thousands of words a day. I am thrilled with my decision months ago to take a beach trip with fellow writer TJ Ritter, so that now I can listen to the endless waves roll in and write like the wind. I don’t want to stop.

One of the great things about NaNoWriMo (and there are MANY, many great things, seriously, this is only one tiny, little one) are the pep talks by writers you may have read. This weeks, by author Jim Butcher of the Harry Dresden series, was a hoot. He says, and I quote:

First and foremost, and I cannot stress this enough: do not sit down at the keyboard and write on a regular basis. This is a trap. You can tell yourself that you’re only doing it to scratch an itch, that you only need to get a few hundred words written and then you can set it aside—but the siren clickclickabulation of the dancing keys will do more than merely produce words on a page. It will condition you to want, nay, to need to do it each and every day.

And if that happens, there is simply no way, in the long run, to avoid the most lamentable and horrible fate of finishing a novel.

I feel the addiction creeping into me, wending its way into my nerves in a way that means it’s  becoming an integral part of me. I will never be the same. I am already in love with my ridiculous characters, who are riddled with characters flaws, all of which seem suspiciously familiar. I have to carry them on. They need to live, to meet their fates, to find love. Don’t they?

I’m going now. Going back to the novel, which isn’t done, because we’re in the middle of a dramatic courtroom scene, a romance that just suffered the reveal of a difficult secret, and some dangerous shenanigans that involve fomenting a revolution. So forgive me if I don’t have time to watch TV.

love to you, and Write On!
P

Leave a Reply

