Guest Post: Why Do You Write?

Why Do You Write?

by ELIZABETH AYRES

As the new year begins, I invite you to reflect on why you write.  And don’t be ho-hum hum-drum — put some muscle into it!  That special muscle available to the writer called “imagination.”

As a warm-up, please read the following, excerpted from Red: Passion and Patience in the Desert by Terry Tempest Williams.

Dearest Deb:

You asked me why I write…. I write to make peace with the things I cannot control.  I write to create red in a world that often appears black and white.  I write to discover.  I write to uncover.  I write to meet my ghosts…. I write with a knife carving each word through the generosity of trees…. I write with the colors of memory.  I write as a witness to what I imagine.  I write by grace and grit….I write for the surprise of a beautiful sentence.  I write with the belief of alchemists.  I write knowing I will always fail…. I write because it is dangerous, a bloody risk, like love, to form the words, to say the words, to touch the source, to be touched, to reveal how vulnerable we are, how transient.  I write as though I am whispering in the ear of the one I love.

 =============

Thanks to Elizabeth Ayres for permission to repost this. Be sure to visit her web site to check out books, classes, workshops and more at The Creative Writing Center.

Why do YOU write? Leave your answer in a comment, or let a new essay, story or poem be born!

And dont forget, next meeting Monday, February 11, 2013. 1:00-3:00pm at the Accokeek Library.

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Why Do You Write?

  1. Finally taking the time to read our blog and question “why do you write?” Just a quick minute to comment on the line in the Ayers’ post I like the most-“I write for the surprise of a beautiful sentence” Surprise- great word when it comes to writing. Surprise- good for my spirit. So writing can be as a free sprit Like Valerie’s horse’s mane pictured blowing in the wind, a surprise with where I’m going and don’t know how I’m getting there. So not just the creation- good sentence or bad- but the surprise of writing and putting down thoughts that come as a surprise- such fun. That’s why I enjoy our writer’s group so much- just being prompted to be a little creative once in a while and the surprise of our works! See you in March- Gwen

    Like

Leave a Reply

