It’s Almost Time to Begin your Novel!

You read that right: November is National Novel Writing Month, so declared by the wonderful Office of Letters & Light, a non-profit literacy organization that runs NaNoWriMo every year, along with other inspiring and energizing writing projects.

nanowrimoWhat is NaNoWriMo?  Well, for the past 14 years, aspiring novelists register at the web site www.nanowrimo.org, join their local and regional groups and get ready to hit the page running at 12:01 am November 1st. The goal is to log a word count of 50,000 words (approximately 175 pages) by November 30. Last year over 250,000 writers registered and over 35,000 met their goal.

All during the month of November there are local and online events to help you keep writing. Online there are many forums for research, commiseration and challenges, and contacts for local happenings. In libraries, coffeehouses and other places, WriMos gather for Write-Ins, to have company while they build their word count. It’s really fun, plus, you get to meet other writers!

Good thing the support and encouragement is there, because the heat is on to generate an average of 1667 words per day . Last year I signed on and wrote like my life depended on on it. Some days it was easy and fun. Some days I was stuck, dried up and pretty sure I wasn’t novel writing material. Other days I would write like a house-on-fire and complete whole chapters. But the experience taught me that I CAN generate longer more intricate stories, and I can write in a dedicated fashion.

Last November I completed a 56,121 rough (and I mean rough!) draft, Part One  of my 1st Century epic UnYielding Light (working title). This year I’m going for it again, hopefully drafting Part Two.

I hope you will check out the project, read about the Office of Letters & Light and their wonderful projects, cheer on your fellow writers, and maybe even join me in this year’s NaNoWriMo. I’ll challenge you to a 10 minute word war!

One thought on “It’s Almost Time to Begin your Novel!

  1. Pingback: It’s Time to Write Your Novel! « Art, Spirit, Nature

Leave a Reply

