Reading and Writing

I’m reading an amazing book, Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. It’s challenging, each section is a different time period, some with their own hard-to-follow dialect. It purports to be a novel about how our souls interweave through time.

Floating in the pool this morning, worrying about my life, I had an idea for a new story. Create a character who is a future self, one who has the advantage of my experience but is young and driven. Let her have an inner guide that is a thinly veiled version of me: a bit world-weary, a bit wise. Maybe several inner guides, drawing on ancestors and friends, even historical figures.

It’s embryonic, I know. But I will need a good concept for a novel come October, because I am determined to tackle NaNoWriMo again!!

What are you reading? And how is it helping you as a writer?

2 thoughts on “Reading and Writing

  1. I have been reading Tolkeinʻs The Hobbit, and itʻs reminding me of the time I read it before, when I was in elementary school, I think. I like learning to think through time through a good book. Itʻs making me think of the stories I wrote with my elementary school friend. We are writers in so many ways! Iʻm also reading Ann Patchettʻs Truth and Beauty, a memoir of a friendship. Thatʻs about writers being friends and writing — I think you all would LOVE that one.

    Like

  2. Patrise, that sounds like a real inspiration. I would enjoy reading the relived life that is enlightened by wisdom gained from living. Sounds almost like time travel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

