Short Fiction: It’s fun, it’s easy, it’s amazing! and a Contest!

I adore short-short stories. So much so that I made a blog just for that purpose here: Imagined Voyages. I find the very short form encourages me to tackle something big, gives me permission to imply and suggest rather than describe to death, and puts an emphasis on concise potent language.

One exercise I love is the 100 Word Drabble. Tell a story in exactly 100 words. I usually write too much, until I am satified with the vignette. Then I polish, paring unnecessary words until I hit the 100 mark. Try it!

Here’s one I wrote for this post. For instance, I changed “picking up” to “fetching” saving one word, and I had to give up some phrases I was attached to , but I managed to pare 168 words to 100 and keep the tale intact.

Title: Waiting
Author: Patrise
Rating: G
Word count: 100

Samantha arrived at the café. Why was she doing this again? Her last personal ad brought lechers, losers, and one who obviously couldn’t read.

She reached for the glass door, as it swung open, held by a tall man with laugh lines. Wouldn’t mind this one, she thought, looking around for someone more troll-like.

No single men obviously waiting, Sam ordered her latte. Another no-show, she grumbled. Fetching her cup she sat viewing the door and opened her book.

A shadow fell across her table. “You must be Sam.” She looks up at the tall smiling man, startled. She smiled.

CONTEST!

WOW! Women on Writing Summer 2012 Flash Fiction Contest, deadline for submissions is August 31, 2012. The mission of this contest is to inspire creativity, communication, and well-rewarded recognition to contestants. Entries are between 250–750 words. Click here for complete submission guidelines.

Leave a Reply

